junk maille? spare rings?
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Group Projects

Submissions: 0

junk maille? spare rings?
Posted on Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:18 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Im looking for spare rings, basicly anything that you have laying around, from a past project, current project, floor scrapings, doesent matter. I know you have them, i have some. Im new to all this all ive used is aluminum, so anything is good for me! even if its one! ill take it! so if you have rings that your willing to donate! please let me know! Thanks!

Submissions: 14

Posted on Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:07 pm

Is it for a specific project, or just in general? If it's in general, you might have better luck putting this thread in the trading room.

Welcome to the boards, though! Very Happy

I'll rise, but I won't shine.

Submissions: 72

Posted on Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:53 pm

Yeah, I'll agree that the trading room would probably be a better place for this topic.

At any rate, I'm not exactly willing to simply give my rings away since I put in a lot of work and money for them. If you're interested at all, I'm hoping to trade rings or wire for colored pop tabs. If you're curious about what wire types I have and what ring sizes I have and can make, I have a thread in the trading room all about it. Also, like the post says, I'm willing to be a bit generous with my supplies because I need the tabs rather soon.

If you're hoping to just get free wire and supplies, it is possible to get it if you look in the right places.

Construction sites are good places to get copper wire usually in either 16ga or 18ga. It's a good idea to ask the site boss before you go digging through their scraps though.

If you happen to live in a farming community like I do, you may have an easy time finding galvanized steel electric fence wire. I've gotten tons of galvy from our local dump's metal pile just by asking for it.