Aluminum vs Stainless Steel from The Ring Lord
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 2

Aluminum vs Stainless Steel from The Ring Lord
Posted on Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:40 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I got my first shipment of rings in December. I bought the stainless steel because I've had some bad experiences with aluminum rings not from The Ring Lord. I was hoping to buy a new shipment soon, but first I want to ask you guys what are your thoughts on the aluminum rings from The Ring Lord? Are they easy enough to open, but still stay closed once you've made the piece? (That's my problem at the moment, my hands aren't strong enough to open some of the stainless steel ones, and the aluminum ones I have from somewhere else are fairly bad quality and are very malleable; they break open too easily.)

Also what are your thoughts on gauge and ID? Like what would be a good mix to get for a variety of projects?

Submissions: 20

Re: Aluminum vs Stainless Steel from The Ring Lord
Posted on Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:39 pm

frozenxdreamer wrote:
I got my first shipment of rings in December. I bought the stainless steel because I've had some bad experiences with aluminum rings not from The Ring Lord. I was hoping to buy a new shipment soon, but first I want to ask you guys what are your thoughts on the aluminum rings from The Ring Lord? Are they easy enough to open, but still stay closed once you've made the piece? (That's my problem at the moment, my hands aren't strong enough to open some of the stainless steel ones, and the aluminum ones I have from somewhere else are fairly bad quality and are very malleable; they break open too easily.)

Also what are your thoughts on gauge and ID? Like what would be a good mix to get for a variety of projects?

TRL's Bright Aluminium is plenty strong enough, yet much easier to work with than Stainless.

In regards to Gauge and ID...
TRL's 16g and 18g (Both SWG) are great starter sizes.