Teaching Chain Maille Advice, please
View previous topic | View next topic >
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle

Submissions: 0

Teaching Chain Maille Advice, please
Posted on Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:52 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hi Everyone, I am working with the local beadstore to teach my first chainmaille class and I need advice from those of you who teach classes. I'm not sure how the bead store owner and I should split the class fees and supplies, etc. In my area, most chain maille classes go for about $25-$30 for a 2 hour class. Supplies are extra if sterling is used. If using aluminum rings, some classes include the supply fees.

I should mention that at the time, this bead store does not sell rings.

Can you guys please give me advice on how I should charge for my classes? I'm totally new at this and would like to learn from those of you who teach chain maille.

Thank you so much.
Marie715

Submissions: 106

Posted on Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:44 pm

I'll see if I can get someone to move this to Knitting Circle. You would get more answers there.

"I am a leaf on the wind." ~ Wash
Lorraine's Chains
Gallery Submission Guidelines

Posted on Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:27 am

lorraine wrote:
I'll see if I can get someone to move this to Knitting Circle. You would get more answers there.

Thanks, lorraine. This is my first time posting at mailleartisans.org. I'll copy my post into the Knitting circle.

Posted on Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:28 am

marie715 wrote:
lorraine wrote:

Thanks, lorraine. This is my first time posting at mailleartisans.org. I'll copy my post into the Knitting circle.
Oh, sorry, it is already here. Thank you.

Posted on Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:52 am

I think it would be a good idea to split the cost of class and supplies. That way when your students sign up they can request what material their project is made out of. An example would be class cost is $20, + $5 for BA; +$7 for copper, brass, or bronze; +$10 for SS; +$? for silver.