Help.. Making Jump Rings
View previous topic | View next topic >
Post new topic Reply to topic
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle
   
Author Message

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Help.. Making Jump Rings
Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:33 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Hello all.. Sorry to be a pest and I'm sure many people have posted this question many times.. But I have not had any luck finding an answer..

I have a Jump Ring maker that works with a flex shaft and cutting box..

I have tried cutting fast, cutting slow, using saw lube and dish soap,
but I am still having problems with crazy burrs..

Can anyone give me some better hints as to what I might be doing or what else I can try so I don't have any burrs on my rings??

I'm using plated copper wire for them.. soooo not ready for anything else Smile

Please help!!

Thanks in advance!
Em

Joined: March 3, 2002
Posts: 4372
Submissions: 79
Location: tres piedras, new mexico

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:03 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

exactly which jump ring setup are you using?

what is the name?


PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:08 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Pepe Jump Ring Maker

Joined: March 3, 2002
Posts: 4372
Submissions: 79
Location: tres piedras, new mexico

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:10 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

[article=Ray Grossman's JumpRinger - Tips & Review]
http://www.mailleartisans.org/articles/articledisplay.cgi?key=13308
article code, y u no work?

this is my experience with ray grossmans "jumpringer"

also, what gauge metal are you using?
what blades are you using to cut?
what saw lube are you using? procut? beeswax?


i assume you're using a foot pedal. do you have access to a dial control? i use my jumpringer with a dial control set to about 85% and then use the foot pedal as my on/off switch.

anyway, i'll wait to hear back from you before i go to far in depth here.


PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:14 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

so far I have only used 18 and 20 gauge plated (colored) copper wire..

saw blades are 1 1/4 inch, specified for the use with the saw that I purchased.. I don't see a dial on my motor or hand piece, but yes I have a pedal!

i used the pepe lube that they sent with my set up.. pro-cut and i've tried using dish soap

Joined: March 3, 2002
Posts: 4372
Submissions: 79
Location: tres piedras, new mexico

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:53 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

are you letting the saw blade get up to speed before you try cutting?

are you applying the lubricant to the coil or to the saw blade?
i always apply to the coil.


PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:56 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

yes, it gets to full speed then i slowly move the blade to the coil and have been letting the blade push it self thru the coil.. I only hold the hand piece steady on the cutting box and let the blade do the work.

Yes, I apply lube right to the coil

Joined: March 3, 2002
Posts: 4372
Submissions: 79
Location: tres piedras, new mexico

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:16 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

i've had issues when i use cheap saw blades. not all saw blades are equal.

have you tried a fresh blade? when i was first learning my machine i borked a blade or two getting things figured out. i have an 18" block and cut 15"+ springs. i pass through the coil in about 3-5 seconds for 20ga.

what kind of flexshaft are you using? are you using a dremel or a proxxon? iirc, that tool doesn't work with a foredom.

i recall trying to cut soft aluminum with my saw (to test) and it would heat up, giving a burr as long as the wire was wide. soft wire burrs more.

it sounds like you're cutting electroplated copper, which is pretty soft. if so, you'll have to wait around for someone to reply who cuts that stuff.


PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:26 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

Grobet 1/8hp flexshaft machine is what I have.. I thought I damaged my first blade from cutting in the wrong direction, but it looks ok..

After that, I changed the blade and I still have the same prob.. a few burrs I wouldn't mind, but they are not a clean cut.. The replacement blades they have on the website I got the Kit from are 12.50, no name brand on them.. Maybe that is the issue, I will have to look into getting better blades for it.

Ive seen some links people have posted in the forum I will check out and see what I can find for new blades and give that a shot.

The wire that I have been using is mainly artistic wire and another brand that is comparable to it..

All I am doing is making bracelets with it and trying different patterns with the different sizes to make jewelery with them!

Joined: March 3, 2002
Posts: 4372
Submissions: 79
Location: tres piedras, new mexico

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:06 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

do you have any straight copper / brass to try? a different metal may help you troubleshoot.


PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:08 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

I tried a copper wire, not plated, 20g and it cut fine

Joined: March 3, 2002
Posts: 4372
Submissions: 79
Location: tres piedras, new mexico

Reply with quote
Posted on Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:01 pm
Link to Post: Link to Post

hey now we're making progress!

so, i guess the call is out there for people with experience cutting EC with one of these gadgets.

anyone?


PSA: remember to stretch.
3.o is fixing everything.

Joined: June 20, 2012
Posts: 7
Submissions: 0
Location: waterman, illinois

Reply with quote
Posted on Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:01 am
Link to Post: Link to Post

I will keep searching maybe I can find someone else that has had the same prob

Post new topic Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT. The time now is Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:52 pm
M.A.I.L. Forum Index -> Knitting Circle
Display posts from previous: